Posted by

Linkin Park | February 22, 2011

For the first time in several years, Linkin Park hit the San Francisco Bay Area on their A Thousand Suns World Tour. I tried to count the number people in line waiting outside San Jose’s HP Pavilion to get in but gave up at an ass-load. Much of the crowd arrived early to catch The Prodigy’s manic set where the strobes were certain to have triggered multiple epileptic fits, but by 9:15 pm the inside of the arena was literally packed to the rafters for the headliners.

With a cool, v-shaped stage offering greater floor access to the stage and great views from the seats, Linkin Park, took the stage to The Requiem from their latest release, A Thousand Suns, delivering a more organic and powerful performance than what’s on the album.  The crowd was definitely  into the new material but when the intro music to Feint started, they went absolutely bonkers.

After stashing my camera gear I found  myself two rows behind a guy (?) dressed as a leopard … or was it a cheetah? … as LP launched into Waiting for the End and then a tribal, percussive version of Blackout.  I must admit that A Thousand Suns didn’t grab me the first time I heard it but the new material comes across fantastic live.

During The Radiance, it was clear that Mike was having some technical difficulties with his keyboards.  Despite selling tens of millions of records, these guys are no prima donas.  No one threw a  hissy fit or stormed off stage, and instead showed real class.  Mike said, “that’s what I like about you guys, you’re so patient” (alluding also to the 8+ year wait) and Chester brought out Brad with “a wooden instrument that never breaks” for an unexpected acoustic performance of The Messenger.  Major props to the guys for turning a technical glitch into a special moment for the San Jose crowd.

After Bleed it Out, the band took a break while the crew swapped out Mike’s keyboard.  No 2-song encore for the Linkin Park guys … try six songs that left the crowd sated and Linkin Park probably  wondering why they waited so long to come back to the bay area.

[smugmug url=”″ imagecount=”100″ start=”2″ num=”27″ thumbsize=”Th” link=”lightbox” captions=”false” sort=”false” window=”false” smugmug=”false” size=”X1″]


  • The Requiem
  • Faint
  • Lying From You
  • Given Up
  • What I’ve Done
  • No More Sorrow
  • From The Inside
  • Jornada del Muerto
  • Waiting For The End
  • Blackout
  • Numb
  • The Radiance
  • The Messenger
  • Iridescent
  • Fallout
  • The Catalyst
  • Shadow Of The Day
  • In The End
  • Bleed It Out


  • Empty Spaces
  • When They Come for Me
  • Papercut
  • New Divide
  • Crawling
  • One Step Closer

Click here for a free download of their five song tour EP.

© 2011 Alan Snodgrass | Please do not use without express permission (contact). If you like what you see, leave a comment below and subscribe so you can be notified of new posts. You can also become a fan on Facebook for access to exclusive photos.

0 Comments Off on Linkin Park | February 22, 2011 1895 23 February, 2011 Galleries, Live Reviews February 23, 2011

Facebook Comments

Recent Posts

Follow Me