Posted by

Volbeat | April 8, 2011

Volbeat returned to San Francisco to tear up the Fillmore in support of their most recent release, Beyond Hell / Above Heaven. Hugely popular in Europe but still relatively unknown here in the U.S., it was clear from the near-capacity crowd (including a gaggle of inebriated Danes) decked out in Volbeat gear that word of their live show is definitely getting around.

Friday was no disappointment as the band took the stage to Motorhead … the perfect lead-in to their usual opener, The Human Instrument, which always seems to get the band and the crowd equally pumped for what was to come. The setlist, a healthy mix of the old and new, introduced some new tunes to the San Francisco crowd including The Mirror And The Ripper, Heaven Nor Hell and Thanks, all of which were clearly as familiar to the local crowd as the older material. 90 minutes never went so fast. Unfortunately no post-show hanging with the band as the venue personnel quickly herded the lingering fans towards the doors.

Be sure to check out my exclusive interview with Jon Larsen and Thomas Brendahl.

[smugmug url=”″ imagecount=”100″ start=”2″ num=”27″ thumbsize=”Th” link=”lightbox” captions=”false” sort=”false” window=”false” smugmug=”false” size=”L”]

Set List:

  • Intro
  • Human Instrument
  • Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood
  • Heaven Nor Hell
  • A Moment Forever / Hallelujah Goat
  • Radio Girl
  • Mirror and The Ripper
  • Sad Man’s Tongue
  • Marryann’s Place
  • Angelfuck (Misfits cover with Rob Caggiano on guitar)
  • Mr. & Mrs. Ness
  • We
  • Still Counting
  • Who They Are
  • Fallen
  • Thanks
  • I Only Want To Be With You (Dusty Springfield cover)
  • Pool of Booze, Booze, Booza

© 2011 Alan Snodgrass | Please do not use without express permission (contact). If you like what you see, leave a comment below and subscribe so you can be notified of new posts. You can also become a fan on Facebook for access to exclusive photos.

0 Comments Off on Volbeat | April 8, 2011 1945 10 April, 2011 Galleries, Live Reviews April 10, 2011

Facebook Comments

Recent Posts

Follow Me