Reel Big Fish

Reel Big Fish brought their Summer of Ska 2012 Tour to San Francisco’s Regency Ballroom. The Maxies kicked off the ska fest with a raucous set that had the already crowded room alternating between singing along and rolling on the floor from the on-stage humor which seemed to be mostly directed towards man-on-man action (a Greenland thing?) … providing a perfect way to kick the night off. Next up was Suburban Legends which, no surprise given their stint at Disneyland, brought the bubbliest set of the night which included a cover of I Just Can’t Wait To Be King (which not surprisingly everyone seemed to know the words to). Then Big D and the Kids Table upped the stakes significantly.

After watching Big D’s set it was hard to imagine that they could be topped, but Reel Big Fish proceeded to take the stage and blow the doors off the Regency. And while it could have been argued earlier in the evening based on the crowd support that the other bands contributed to the night’s draw, there was soon no doubt that everyone in the room was there to see the Fish. Monday night’s audience gets major points for crowd participation … from the front of the room all the way to the back the fans clapped on command, skanked on demand to Don’t Stop Skankin’ and (curiously) sang the loudly for the band’s cover Metallica’s Enter Sandman.

While this may be the tail end of the tour, the energy level from the stage remained high and was undoubtedly infectious; the floor of the Regency bouncing in such a way that is rarely seen at other shows with even the most precarious of mosh pits. With a setlist spanning new material, the classics as well as a handful of ska’d-up covers, this all should have come as no surprise. Overall a great lead-in for their July 31 release of Candy Coated Fury.


  • The Kids Don’t Like It / In The Pit
  • Another F.U. Song
  • Everything Sucks
  • I Want Your Girlfriend to Be My Girlfriend Too
  • Snoop Dog, Baby
  • Good Thing
  • Don’t Stop Skankin’
  • The Set Up (You Need This)
  • Enter Sandman (partial)
  • The Fire
  • Brown Eyed Girl
  • Ban The Tube Top
  • Don’t Stop Believin’ / With Or Without You (partial)
  • Punisher
  • Trendy
  • Your Guts (I Hate ‘Em)
  • Where Have You Been
  • S.R.
  • Beer


  • Sell Out
  • She Has a Girlfriend Now
  • Take on Me

Supporting acts:  Big D and the Kids Table, Suburban Legends, The Maxies

© 2012 Alan Snodgrass | Please do not use without express permission (contact). If you like what you see, leave a comment below and subscribe so you can be notified of new posts. You can also become a fan on Facebook.