Chester Bennington of Linkin Park performs on September 7, 2012

The Honda Civic tour returned to the Bay Area with headliners Linkin Park supporting their 2012 release, Living Things.  Taking the stage at 9:25 pm to the Beastie Boys, LP kicked things off old-school style with A Place For My Head off of Hybrid Theory and kept the crowd going with some of the tried and true material from their earlier releases before heading into the territory of  Living Things.  While the vast majority in attendance were hearing the likes of In My Remains, Victimized and Lies Greed Misery for the first time live, it was pretty clear from their reaction that they knew the new material well … drawing a comment from Bennington at one point who seemed suitably impressed by the response.

The impressive thing about Linkin Park is that despite having their break-through on their debut album and subsequently evolving their sound, they’ve still been able to consistently draw capacity crowds year after year. Friday night’s performance at the Shoreline proved why this is the case … despite bringing out a substantial stage setup including platforms and ramps, the band opted to spend most of the set towards the front where the Shoreline’s low stage allowed them to get up close to the crowd.  For a band that can sell out arenas and amphitheaters, they have no doubt maintained their ability to connect with their crowd.

Shinoda had his rhymes down and Chester looked like he was going to blow a blood vessel in his forehead when he screamed … along with the rest of the band they delivered a flawless performance that had the crowd on their feet throughout the 90 minute set and made it clear that Linkin Park has no intention of slowing down.


  • A Place For My Head
  • Given Up
  • New Divide
  • With You
  • Somewhere I Belong
  • In My Remains
  • Victimized
  • Points of Authority
  • Lies Greed Misery
  • Waiting For The End
  • Breaking The Habit
  • Leave Out All The Rest / Shadow of the Day / Iridescent
  • The Catalyst
  • Lost in the Echo
  • Numb
  • What I’ve Done
  • Burn It Down
  • In The End
  • Bleed It Out


  • Tinfoil (intro)
  • Faint
  • Lying From You / Papercut
  • One Step Closer

Supporting acts: Incubus, Mutemath

© 2012 Alan Snodgrass | Please do not use without express permission (contact). If you like what you see, leave a comment below and subscribe so you can be notified of new posts. You can also become a fan on Facebook.

1 thought on “Linkin Park | September 7, 2012

Comments are closed.