You may have already experienced Ballyhoo! when they played the Vans Warped Tour in 2012 or maybe when they opened for Pepper in 2011. Well, they’re back with a new album, Pineapple Grenade, set to drop June 25 and are already gearing up to support the release with The Summer Sickness Tour, co-headlining with Authority Zero (tour dates).


Pineapple Grenade is the kind of music you put on for your backyard barbecue when the sun is shining and the drinks are flowing. 14 songs  (16 tunes on iTunes) of genre-stretching reggae that seamlessly integrates elements of surf guitar, ska, country, punk and 50’s-era rock-and-roll into a cohesive effort that truly represents the band.

The first single, “Run,” is a straight-up rocker which gives the listener a good idea of what to expect from the release.  For those that opt to start at the beginning, the album kicks off with “She Wants to Destroy Me;” at first glance a lazy groover but which unexpectedly kicks it up a few beats for the chorus which is certain to grab the first-time listener’s attention.  Without slowing down, the second track “Battle Cry” keeps the tempo high with a ska-inspired riff and catchy chorus that makes it one of the high-points on the album.

While largely remaining grounded in reggae, the album does take a few interesting twists.  “When They Told Me” pulls in some fiddle for a bit of bluegrass which comes as a surprise and “Out of My Mind” is a straight-up pop punk rocker that could have easily landed on a Green Day album.  Wondering whether or not to go after the extended version of the album?  The acoustic bonus track “Love Letters” is reason enough.

Underneath it all lies front man Howi Spangler’s silky smooth vocals and quality production that makes it all easy on the ears.  Be ready to jump on that grenade when it drops June 25!

Track Listing:
01. She Wants to Destroy Me
02. Battle Cry
03. Take It Easy
04. No Good
05. Run
06. Things We Don’t Mean
07. Instigator
08. Beautiful Day
09. When They Told Me
10. Lost at Sea
11. Outta My Mind
12. A Lesson in Gravity
13. Wasting Away
14. Morning Sunlight
15. Love Letters (iTunes bonus track)
16. Tell My Son (iTunes bonus track)

© 2013 Alan Snodgrass | Please do not use without express permission. If you like what you see, leave a comment below and subscribe so you can be notified of new posts. You can also become a fan on Facebook.