Orville Peck

Orville Peck brought his “Bronco” Tour to an epic finale in front of an an eclectic crowd that perfectly reflected the diversity of the San Francisco Bay Area. To say that the Fox was sold out would be a gross understatement … the room was literally packed side-to-side and front-to-back so that any mere crack of a site line to the stage was occupied. All for a good reason too, while the masked minstrel has drawn attention for his vocals and recorded work, this cowboy of cool puts on a hell of a show.

Silently taking the stage with a simple, “I’m Orville Peck,” and a wave after plugging in his Gretsch guitar, the band launched into “Daytona Sand.” As Orville explained later that night, there are three rules to abide by at one of his shows: 1) it’s okay to cry, 2) please sing along … even if you don’t know the lyrics, and 3) please dance along. Well, looking at the crowd as the setlist moved on to “Turn to Hate” it was clear that no instructions were needed because the Oakland crowd knew exactly how to behave.

The “caballero mysterioso” clearly knew his way around the hood, calling up memories from what he claimed was a year of living right down the street from the very venue that he was now headlining. Clearly having come a long way since, he was particularly gracious with the Oakland fans, sharing “rose ceremony” duty with guitarists Bria Salmena who later demonstrated her own vocal skills on a duet of “All I Can Say.”

Worth a special mention were openers The Nude Party who took the stage to the cheering crowd like headliners in their own rights and proceeded to blast through their 30 minute set with aplomb. The perfect openers for an epic evening of music that definitely left the fans wanting more.


  • Daytona Sand
  • Turn to Hate
  • The Curse of the Blackened Eye
  • Lafayette
  • C’mon Baby, Cry
  • Winds Change
  • Drive Me, Crazy
  • No Glory in the West
  • Outta Time
  • Any Turn
  • All I Can Say
  • Hexie Mountains
  • Blush
  • Legends Never Die
  • Kalahari Down
  • Dead of Night
  • Bronco


  • Unchained Melody (The Righteous Brothers cover)
  • Take You Back (The Iron Hoof Cattle Call)

Orville Peck

The Nude Party

© 2022 Alan Snodgrass | www.digitaldiversion.net. Please do not use without express permission.